The books I read in 2023

Inês Santos Silva
3 min readDec 27, 2023

Over the past years (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022), I’ve been writing about the books I read and what I learned from them.

Thank you, DALL.E, for the image.

In 2023, I read 21 books (less than in 2022 when I read 32), mainly on business and women’s health. Book reading-wise, this was a hard year for me. For most of the year, I didn’t feel like reading. I started many books, finishing a small percentage, and had a hard time finding the motivation to read.

The early days of a new project are always the toughest, and in 2023, my brain power was focused on establishing AthenaDAO. By the time I got to bed to read before falling asleep, I didn’t have the mental capacity to focus on a book. Most of the time, I would think about what the next day would look like and my to-do list.

I believe life is split into seasons. There are seasons where you can read more and seasons of building/creating where there is time for little else.

I don’t expect 2024 to be very different. My goal is to read more on topics like Biotech, Drug Development and Commercialization, Storytelling and Copywriting, Sales, Women’s Health, and Business. If I read 15 to 20 books, I will be happy.

Top recommendations

That being said, in 2023, I read some amazing books. Here are my top 3 recommendations.

The Comfort Crisis: Embrace Discomfort To Reclaim Your Wild, Happy, Healthy Self by Michael Easter

This was the most important book I read this year. It’s about how our current lifestyle of comfort is impacting our mental and physical health negatively. Made a few changes in my life with a focus on putting myself in situations of discomfort to learn to better deal with hardship.

The Richest Woman in America: Hetty Green in the Gilded Age by Janet Wallach

It’s very rare to find books about self-made women, especially those who lived in the 19th century. This book is full of great advice for men and women and their relationship with money. The book starts with Hetty Green’s favorite poem:

My Symphony

To live content with small means;

To seek elegance rather than luxury,

And refinement rather than fashion;

To be worthy, not respectable, and wealthy, not rich;

To study hard, think quietly,

Talk gently, Act frankly;

To listen to stars and birds, to babes and sages, with open heart;

To bear all cheerfully,

Do all bravely,

Await occasions,

Hurry never.

In a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious, grow up through the common. This is to be my symphony.

by WILLIAM HENRY CHANNING

Outlive: The Science and Art of Longevity by Peter Attia

I’ve been following Peter Attia’s work for many years, especially through podcasts, and the book didn’t disappoint. It’s deep, very scientific, and gives you a good understanding of where the science of increasing your healthspan is at the moment, with a focus on diet and exercise. I changed a few things in the way I approached diet and exercise, and I’m already seeing the results.

If you want to check the other books I read, check out my Goodreads Challenge 2023.

Please feel free to email me your book recommendations. I’m always looking for great books to read.

To see what I’ve read in the past and what I’m reading now, follow me on Goodreads.

--

--

Inês Santos Silva

Ecosystems Builder | Gender Equality | Future of Work. Working in the intersection of technology, entrepreneurship and social good. http://inessilva.me